where do you get your protein from?

So I thought I’d talk a little about something I read today that I found to be extremely interesting.

As I’ve mentioned before, I get a decent amount of magazines in the mail and yesterday I recieved this months issue of Vegetarian Times.

They have a section called “Ask the Doc” where people write in to ask questions and I thought this was interesting:

“Is it true that animal protein builds muscle better than plant protein? Which plant protein sources are best for this?”

Now, I’m not going to type out the whole answer.. but I will copy this:

“Actually, plant protein isn’t any better than animal protein when it comes to building muscle. If you were to feel the leg of a horse or a bull, you’d be reassured that plant proteins build muscle and plenty of it.”

HOLY CRAP. I’ve never thought about the “where do you get your protein?” question quite like this before. It’s never even crossed my mind that animals like horses and bulls and cows all live on a plant based diet, yet are some of the strongest animals we have. I mean come on, most vehicles go by HORSE POWER because of how powerful horses are. I mean, as a vegetarian I’ve been asked sooo many times where I get my protein from.. a lot of people don’t understand that something as simple as broccoli can pack like 4 grams of protein per cup and that as long as you’re eating a well balanced diet you consume plenty of protein on a daily basis.

That statement was just so simple, it blew my mind.

Also, my mother just bought a book called 101 Foods That Could Save Your Life and I was browsing thru it today.. It was really interesting.. covering where certain foods have originated from, why you should eat them, how to store them, ways they benefit you medically and numerous other topics. I was reading about how ridiculously good kiwi is for you and kale and blackberries etc etc. It also made me get a little more curious about Vitamin D.

Recently I’ve learned that I have a severe Vitamin D deficiency and although my doctor didn’t flat out tell me that it could be caused by my diet, I’ve had numerous people tell me that having a vegetarian diet could cause (or aid in) a vitamin D deficiency. Well, out of 101 foods in that book, only 3 foods were considered high in vitamin D, or even mentioned vitamin D. THREE. I mean, I know there’s a wider variety of foods and certainly more than 101 that are good for you.. but only 3? Really? And I’m being told that my diet could be a cause of the deficiency? Psh! (ps: the 3 foods that were mentioned in this specific book having high vitamin D levels were carob, mushrooms, and eggs)

Anyways, that’s my rant on protein and vitamin D. I just thought it was interesting and worth sharing.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jaelyn Aguilera

     /  April 22, 2012

    Im grateful for the blog. Want more.

    Reply
  2. Well I have good news =) I’m going to start it back up again! Hope you’re still checking on it periodically!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

