kale!

So I’ve got a garden in my backyard, a magnificent glorious bountiful garden that I absolutely adore. This year I grew some veggies that I’ve never done before… like kale and celery and red leafed lettuce. I also grew you know, the usual… green peppers, green beans, lettuce, broccoli, cucumber, cauliflower, jalapenos and tomatoes.  Unfortunately, my tomatoes developed some sort of disease this year and I wasn’t able to salvage any of them. BUT, the other things?! BOUNTIES. TONS. I had an over flow of beans and cucumbers and right now, KALE.

So this was in August, imagine MORE. Like a TON MORE.

What do I do with all this kale?! I mean seriously, I’ve made soup, soup and more soup. I’ve made stir fries, dips, I’ve mixed it into rice and pilafs and eaten it just straight up outta the garden. I’ve given a ton away, I’ve made little salads. I’ve devoured so much kale I think it’ll probably start sprouting out my ears!

So anyways, I also receive a kind of embarrassing amount of food/cooking/gardening magazines in the mail each month and tonight I decided to concoct something out of Vegetarian Times that uses KALE. This recipe came out of the October 2011 issue on page 44.

Autumn Vegetable Roast with Orzo via Vegetarian Times, October 2011 page 44

1 pound fingerling potatoes, halved

1 pound cauliflower, cut into florets

2 medium onions, thickly sliced

8 oz celery root, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 small fennel bulbs, cut into 1 inch pieces

6 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp Herbes de Provence

4 tbsp olive oil, divided

1 12 oz bunch kale, coarsely chopped

1 ½ cups orzo

¾ cup cooked or canned chick peas

3 tbsp finely chopped parsley

1 tbsp aged balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 400, spray 2 baking sheets with cooking spray.

Toss all veggies, excluding kale, with 3 tbsp olive oil and the Herbes de Provence. Arrange on the baking sheets. Roast for 1 hour, mixing and rotating pans half way through.

Stir kale into the vegetable mixture about 5 minutes before you pull the roasted vegetables out.

Meanwhile, cook orzo in a pot according to directions… about 2 minutes before final cooking time, throw in the chickpeas to heat through. Drain and stir in parsley and remaining olive oil.

Serve vegetables over orzo, drizzling lusciously with balsamic vinegar.

I made a few changes… the directions told me to boil the kale before roasting. HOG WASH. Why? Waste of time and a pot and blech, I don’t like boiled kale. Also, I didn’t have orzo (shame on me!) so I used baby tiny wittle shells, they’re so cute! I also couldn’t find celery root, so I substituted carrots because roasted carrots are tasty. Oh yeah, and, I halved the recipe since there’s only 2 of us!

ps: there’s a friend in my salad!!!!!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Yum!! I LOVE kale!

    Reply
  2. is that salad friend vegetarian?

    Reply
  3. what a beautiful garden! i am so jealous!

    Reply
  4. You should make more kale chips!!!!

    Reply
  5. there is a bug on that plate…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

