my first (failure) post

So today I had all these super awesome plans to go apple picking and come home and make scalloped potato pie out of Hearty Vegan Meals and then complete it all with wonderful homemade apple crisp. I wanted to get some errands done, buy my roommate a birthday present and be in my comfy bed with my three kitties by 10.

Well, THAT didn’t happen.

Instead, we got off to a late start, made a bunch of unplanned stops, spent too much time at the grocery store and then at a friend’s house and didn’t get home until 7pm. Which in my book, is too late to start any kind of labor intensive meal.

Don’t get me wrong, apple picking was a blast. The boy and I shared a cider slushie (entirely too cold for New York weather right now, but hey! It’s apple cider, in slushie form… who could go wrong?!) and picked a good twenty pounds of apples.

So instead of having this awesome first post about this super yummy scalloped potato pie and delicious apple crisp, I fail and bring only the apple crisp, which isn’t anything that interesting.

I found this recipe over at Yeah that Vegan Shit.

 

APPLE CRISP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

INGREDIENTS:

For the apple part:

  • 5-6 apples, sliced in 1/4-inch slices or so
  • 1 T. cornstarch
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/8 t. nutmeg
  • 1/8 t. allspice
  • 1/16 t. cloves
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar + 1/2 c. water

For the crisp part:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/6 c. canola oil (or 1/2 of a 1/3 measuring cup)
  • 1.5 T. soy milk
  • 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1/8 t. salt

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to about 375. Mix together everything for the apple part except for the apples. Place the apples in your bread-loaf pan and then drizzle the mixture all over the apples. In a separate bowl, mix together everything for the crisp part. Sprinkle this mixture on top of your apples. Cover with tin foil–bake for 10 minutes. Remove tin foil and bake for another 20-30 minutes. Serve with soy ice cream.


It’s boy approved, nose worthy and absolutely delicious!!!!!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. i love apple crisp, and i’ve been wondering what to do with the apples i got. it looks yummy 🙂

    Reply
  2. A delicious apple crisp… I would hardly call that a fail. I hope you were able to snuggle with kitties, at least. I can’t snuggle with kitties at all because everyone else in my house is allergic. Waaaaah!

    Reply
  3. Cool zombie-named blog, too. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh my gosh! I have comments! I’m so new at wordpress I had no idea I had to approve them! So I’m sorry for the untimely response!

    BUT yes, apple crisp is sooo delicious and of course I got to snuggle with kitties =) I am saddened that you are not able to cuddle with kitties, it’s the best feeling in the world =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

