Happy Pi Day! (3.14)

Yes I know I’m late. It’s not exactly Thursday (Pi Day – 3.14) anymore and yes I know that the REAL Pi day will actually be in 2015 (3.14.15)  but I wanted to tell ya’ll about my pie tradition I’ve been doing for a few years on March 14th. I know that technically it’s a day for the mathematical number Pi (3.14159265359), but it’s the perfect excuse to make a delicious PIE! And that’s exactly what I’ve been doing for the last few years… Last year I made chocolate crème pie and the year before that I’m pretty sure I made cherry… anything beyond that I can’t remember… but this year I made a Black Bottom Banana Crème pie and it was amazing!

Look at those delicious chocolate shavings and that luscious home made whipped cream!

It had a shortbread cookie & butter crust, a decadent layer of dark chocolate pudding (might I add it was home made), a layer of perfectly ripe bananas, a layer of vanilla custard and then luscious home made whipped cream. It was heaven in a pie plate. Seriously. I love all things banana and I absolutely love pudding too.. and seriously, home made pudding is so easy to make it’s ridiculous. I would much rather make home made pudding than buy the box (although on super super lazy days I will cave and buy the Jell-O brand pudding… it’s good, what can I say?)

 

And then, just because I believe in writing and broadcasting our cooking failures too, I present to you the most disgusting smoothie I have ever had in my whole entire life.

It’s called a “Clean Breeze Smoothie” (I believe it came out of an issue of EatingWell magazine) and it’s disgusting. Usually I love green smoothies and I frequently request my best friend to make me kale and peach smoothies, but this thing was repulsive. It had everything I usually love in it… kiwi, cucumber, cilantro, ginger kombucha…. but something about the mixture of everything with the extremely tart greek yogurt… Can I tell you how nasty it was anymore? haha If you’d like to try this beast out for yourself, here’s the recipe.

Bon Appetit!

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Pie good. Smoothie bad.

    And is that cilantro I spy in the smoothie?! Ew, Leash. Ew.

    Reply
  2. GG ONEIL

     /  March 19, 2013

    THE PIE LOOKS WONDERFUL IM GONNA TRY IT MAYBE FOR EASTER

    Reply
  3. somethingboy

     /  May 11, 2013

    That pie! Wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

